Teenage Fantasies: A Review of Superbad

superbad2_large

I would like to apologize to anyone who follows this blog and was upset because I didn’t post a blog yesterday. I really have no excuse, I just drank a little to much and wasn’t able to write a blog on time. I hope it will never happen again, but I can’t make any promises. Anyways, today I’m going to review the move, Superbad, because why not.

This movie came out in 2007 and I think I saw it the day it came out, so I was probably about fifteen years old when I first watched it, and let me tell you, when I first watched this movie it like the filmmakers were making a movie about my life. No, I didn’t specifically ride around in a cop car or get wasted with two cops and no, I didn’t get period blood on my pants by dancing with some chick at a random house party. But I was a young and I was a dumb kid in highschool who chased after girls and tried desperately to get booze.

But besides some youthful misadventures I think there are some themes in this movie that I related when I was fifteen. Seth and Evan and Fogell (Mclovin) are sort of like misfits. The only way they can get invited to parties is by bringing alcohol for everyone. And when they talk to the girls they like about doing the normal things that teenagers do in highschool they have to lie because they don’t really have anything to compare with their experiences. I think, at the end of the movie, what makes them endearing characters is that they, as a group of friends, are so close because they can’t really get close to anyone else.

And even within that tight-nit group they have problems. In a truly realistic world, in all respects Seth would be Fogell’s bully. He really treats him like shit. But in this movie Seth is the stand out character. I remember for months after seeing this movie my friends and I would quote all of his lines, and he really had so many hilarious lines, in a movie with so many hilarious quptes, like when Evan is upstairs at the party with Becca:

Becca: “Your cock is so smooth.”

Evan: “Yours would be too… If you were a man.”

But for sure Seth has the best lines in the movie:

Seth: “Mom’s making a pubie salad, and she wants some Seth’s own dressing.”

Seth: “I’ll be like the Iron Chef of pounding vag.”

Seth: “Hey Greg, why don’t you go piss your pants again?”

Greg: “That was eight years ago, asshole.”

Seth: “People don’t forget!”

The combination of Seth Rogan and Evan Goldberg writing for Jonah hill was just such a perfect match that they haven’t really recaptured since this movie.

Superbad-superbad-6870544-853-480

This isn’t really a realistic movie. I think if I were to categorize this into a genre it would be a teen fantasy. As Seth Rogan and Evan Goldberg wrote it when they were fifteen years old, it kind of makes sense. I guess, technically, it’s a coming of age story but because two teenagers wrote it and the main events of the movie aren’t very realistic I would put it in the teenage fantasy genre.

But I think the strongest theme in this movie overall is the separation anxiety between Seth and Evan. For those who haven’t seen it, the two main characters in this movie are best friends and highschool students who are going to different colleges. I guess this a spoiler but this movie is nine fucking years old so deal with it. Anyways, this separation anxiety sort of drives the tension between the three main characters, especially between Seth and Evan and this where the real heart of the movie comes out because more than being about teenage fantasy’s this movie is really about highschool friendships and the immaturity that comes with them, which is also very relatable. When Seth can’t handle that he and Evan aren’t going to the same college it severs their friendship and threatens to ruins their night.

And when, at the end of the film, the conflict is resolved and the friends drunkenly make up, sitting in their parent’s basement, they don’t need any teenage fantasies.

Thank you for reading this review. If you liked it please like and follow this blog. Also you can leave a comment but if you haven’t already, please like my Facebook group, it’s an easy way to keep up to date with all of my ramblings.

superbadbdcap3

Leave a Reply

